Book Review: The Minimalist Entrepreneur by Sahil Lavingia

  • 12th Apr'22
  • 210
  • 13
  • 18

Today, we are living in the dawn of startups, and entrepreneurship. Not only is the awareness regarding businesses increasing but more and more individuals are turning towards a side hustle that they feel passionate about. Fueling this entrepreneurial energy is the book “The Minimalist Entrepreneur: How Great Founders Do More with Less” by the Gumroad founder Sahil Lavingia. So let's dive right in to see what the book offers -

 

The Minimalist Entrepreneur - Book Review

 

Let’s begin with the most fundamental question of this book. Who is a Minimalist Entrepreneur? 

The answer is “a minimalist entrepreneur is making a difference while making a living, focuses on profitability instead of growth and becomes the centerpiece of their companies story.”

The book focuses on blending the concepts of business and sustainability as the author explains the importance of minimal decisions. The author further explains how building a business is possible without venture capital and gives a simple step-by-step account of how it is done. The author expresses this relationship between business and sustainability as - 

“Profitability means sustainability. Instead of treading water until a lifeboat comes along to save you—which is how many founders think about raising their next round of VC funding—it means building your own boat.”

 

About the Author 

 

The book, “The Minimalist Entrepreneur: How Great Founders Do More with Less”, is written by an entrepreneur himself, Sahil Lavingia. Gumroad, which is a self-publishing digital marketplace platform to sell digital services such as books, memberships, courses and other digital services, was founded by him in 2011. 

Apart from this book, he has also authored essays like “No Meetings, No Deadlines, No Full-Time Employees”, “Across the border”, “From Bubble to Bubble” and more. 

In the book, Sahil Lavingia explains how he started Gumroad and had become a company of 23 full-time employees in 2015. Then he talks about how due to the lack of venture funding, the company was back to being a one-man company with only Sahil in it, in 2016. 

Sahil Lavingia apart from being an author, an entrepreneur and a funder is also an artist who loves to paint and sketch. His work is also shared on his Twitter handle and his website. 

 

Who is the book for?

 

The book is for the young and new entrepreneurs who are trying to find a direction to move into. The book gives a philosophy to young entrepreneurs and breaks down the myth that starting a business requires a large sum of capital. The author further explains the process of creating a business and expresses the importance of minimal decisions. 

The book, “The Minimal Entrepreneur” is not for venture capitalists as it offers solutions about how not to use venture capital and still build a business. 

 

The Glass Half Full - 

 

The Minimalist Entrepreneur breaks down the nitty-gritty of starting a business. It is not only encouraging entrepreneurs to start without having to worry about having a huge capital but it is also giving hope that sustenance without venture capital is possible. Take Gumroad’s example. In March 2021, Sahil raised $5 million for his business via crowdfunding.

This book underlines a significant and oft-ignored tenet that taking venture capital is a choice, not a compulsion. An epic example, in this case, is that of ZOHO Corporation which was recently listed on NASDAQ and before that became a self-funded unicorn.

The practical side of the book is another merit that it holds. The author offers practical examples instead of theoretical knowledge. Especially the chapters 3, 4 and 5 include some crucial details about starting out and finding ideas. 

 

The Glass Half Empty - 

 

If you are someone who follows Sahil Lavingia on Twitter, you are probably aware of the wordplay he does around his tweets. He often expresses smart tips through very minimal words in his tweets. For example, one of his tweets read -

“Invest your money where the smartest people invest their time.”

But the book lacks his smart writing in some places. For example, the content in the Sales and Marketing chapter is quite generic. And the book overall feels like it's stretched and is a tad too long. Furthermore, the book, The Minimalist Entrepreneur, lacks the depth that Sahil usually offers in his tweets and other writing. 

Secondly, the book caters to young founders and entrepreneurs but holds complex concepts of business that a person who is just starting may not understand right away. Therefore, you may find yourself, searching online for the meanings of words like “testing hypotheses”, funnels, MVPs, etc. 

The exposure to new terms can also be seen as a good thing though it hinders the flow of a reader sometimes. And other books like “Start From Zero”, by Dane Maxwell, explain these basic concepts to the readers where the hindrance of the lack of knowledge is avoided. One may also try reading, Thinking Fast and Slow, for personal development.  Another useful read for entrepreneurs can be “Getting Things Done” by David Allen. 

 

The Note-Worthy Quotes -

 

Even though we have been discussing the quotes mentioned in the book throughout this book review, they deserve a section all for themselves. Lavingia has done an incredible job in getting these key learnings in one place for entrepreneurs. Here’s a list of the note-worthy quotes which deserve a mention -

  • “The world will tell you to go big or go home, but I say go small at the beginning. And the smallest you could possibly start is to build nothing at all. Instead of skipping straight to software, stick with pen and paper”

  • “People do not go from being strangers to being customers in one step. They go from being strangers to being vaguely aware of your existence to slowly over time becoming fans, and finally to being customers and then repeat customers who help you spread the word. Start with making fans.”

  • “…it’s a lot more difficult, emotional, and expensive to fix your culture than your code”

  • “Before you invite anyone over, you need to get your house in order. I’ve never seen a house party ends cleaner than when it started, and a company is a house party that never ends

  • “In the end, there isn’t much difference between a business-like Gumroad and a creator. It’s just semantics—one or more people using the tool of a business to make something new”

 

The Conclusion 

 

If you starting your business or have a start-up idea recently and are looking forward to getting tips and tricks of the trade from an experienced entrepreneur like Sahil Lavingia, then this is the book for you. Though I would recommend you to have a basic understanding of the business concepts first before you start the book. 

Overall, the book is a good read. The text may feel long at times but holds a lot of potential to motivate young entrepreneurs in a self-sustainable direction. One should definitely give it a read to get rid of the stereotypes that revolve around business and get a whole new perspective about it. 

 

We, at OpenGrowth, are continually looking for trending startups in the ecosystem. If you want to know any further information about the startup ecosystem or have any mind-boggling ideas, do refer to the other blogs at OpenGrowth. If you have any suggestions, do let us know in the comment section below.

Sources/References:

*Note: The content published above was made in collaboration with our members.

About the author:

Shriya Sarang, OpenGrowth Content Team

Shriya Sarang holds a degree in Political Science and Public Administration. Apart from having no political opinions, she advocates financial literacy among her friends. 


Post Your Comment
Gloria

My name is Gloria from Sweden, My boyfriend left me a month ago and he was leaving with another woman who is 7 years older than him,i feel like my life is completely over so one day as i was browsing searching on the internet for help I read over the internet how a spell caster have help several people to get there love back. I have been depress for the past one month and what i need is to get him back and live with him happily. so i decided to give it a try so i contacted the spell caster called Dr Murugu and explain my problems to him and he cast a love spell which i use to get my boyfriend back and now my life is complete and both of us are very happy with the relationship. and i am really grateful to this man for what he has done for me and my family, Thank you very much and i will continue to say my testimony over and over again. for those you need help or having same problem as me should contact him on his email address,,dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

2022-04-12 20:49:13

Gloria

My name is Gloria from Sweden, My boyfriend left me a month ago and he was leaving with another woman who is 7 years older than him,i feel like my life is completely over so one day as i was browsing searching on the internet for help I read over the internet how a spell caster have help several people to get there love back. I have been depress for the past one month and what i need is to get him back and live with him happily. so i decided to give it a try so i contacted the spell caster called Dr Murugu and explain my problems to him and he cast a love spell which i use to get my boyfriend back and now my life is complete and both of us are very happy with the relationship. and i am really grateful to this man for what he has done for me and my family, Thank you very much and i will continue to say my testimony over and over again. for those you need help or having same problem as me should contact him on his email address,,dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

2022-04-12 20:49:35

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com My name is Doris John. My ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce. But I always wanted to get back together with him, All it took was a visit to this spell casters website, because my dream was to start a new life with my husband, and live happily with him.. This spell caster requested for a specific love spell for me and my husband, and i accepted it. And this powerful spell caster began to work his love spell. And 48 hours after this spell caster worked for me,my husband called me back for us to be together again, and he was remorseful for all his wrong deeds.The spell is work perfectly and my husband is now back to me again.My “husband” is back and we went to court and withdraw our divorce papers ASAP. This is nothing short of a miracle Thank you Dr.Murugu for your powerful spells. Words are not enough. Email: dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com https://drmakinidrmurugu.blogspot.com Whatsapp: +90 538 069 4285

2022-04-12 20:50:43

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com My name is Doris John. My ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce. But I always wanted to get back together with him, All it took was a visit to this spell casters website, because my dream was to start a new life with my husband, and live happily with him.. This spell caster requested for a specific love spell for me and my husband, and i accepted it. And this powerful spell caster began to work his love spell. And 48 hours after this spell caster worked for me,my husband called me back for us to be together again, and he was remorseful for all his wrong deeds.The spell is work perfectly and my husband is now back to me again.My “husband” is back and we went to court and withdraw our divorce papers ASAP. This is nothing short of a miracle Thank you Dr.Murugu for your powerful spells. Words are not enough. Email: dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com https://drmakinidrmurugu.blogspot.com Whatsapp: +90 538 069 4285

2022-04-12 20:50:44

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com My name is Doris John. My ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce. But I always wanted to get back together with him, All it took was a visit to this spell casters website, because my dream was to start a new life with my husband, and live happily with him.. This spell caster requested for a specific love spell for me and my husband, and i accepted it. And this powerful spell caster began to work his love spell. And 48 hours after this spell caster worked for me,my husband called me back for us to be together again, and he was remorseful for all his wrong deeds.The spell is work perfectly and my husband is now back to me again.My “husband” is back and we went to court and withdraw our divorce papers ASAP. This is nothing short of a miracle Thank you Dr.Murugu for your powerful spells. Words are not enough. Email: dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com https://drmakinidrmurugu.blogspot.com Whatsapp: +90 538 069 4285

2022-04-12 20:50:44

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com My name is Doris John. My ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce. But I always wanted to get back together with him, All it took was a visit to this spell casters website, because my dream was to start a new life with my husband, and live happily with him.. This spell caster requested for a specific love spell for me and my husband, and i accepted it. And this powerful spell caster began to work his love spell. And 48 hours after this spell caster worked for me,my husband called me back for us to be together again, and he was remorseful for all his wrong deeds.The spell is work perfectly and my husband is now back to me again.My “husband” is back and we went to court and withdraw our divorce papers ASAP. This is nothing short of a miracle Thank you Dr.Murugu for your powerful spells. Words are not enough. Email: dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com https://drmakinidrmurugu.blogspot.com Whatsapp: +90 538 069 4285

2022-04-12 20:50:45

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com My name is Doris John. My ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce. But I always wanted to get back together with him, All it took was a visit to this spell casters website, because my dream was to start a new life with my husband, and live happily with him.. This spell caster requested for a specific love spell for me and my husband, and i accepted it. And this powerful spell caster began to work his love spell. And 48 hours after this spell caster worked for me,my husband called me back for us to be together again, and he was remorseful for all his wrong deeds.The spell is work perfectly and my husband is now back to me again.My “husband” is back and we went to court and withdraw our divorce papers ASAP. This is nothing short of a miracle Thank you Dr.Murugu for your powerful spells. Words are not enough. Email: dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com https://drmakinidrmurugu.blogspot.com Whatsapp: +90 538 069 4285

2022-04-12 20:50:45

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com My name is Doris John. My ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce. But I always wanted to get back together with him, All it took was a visit to this spell casters website, because my dream was to start a new life with my husband, and live happily with him.. This spell caster requested for a specific love spell for me and my husband, and i accepted it. And this powerful spell caster began to work his love spell. And 48 hours after this spell caster worked for me,my husband called me back for us to be together again, and he was remorseful for all his wrong deeds.The spell is work perfectly and my husband is now back to me again.My “husband” is back and we went to court and withdraw our divorce papers ASAP. This is nothing short of a miracle Thank you Dr.Murugu for your powerful spells. Words are not enough. Email: dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com https://drmakinidrmurugu.blogspot.com Whatsapp: +90 538 069 4285

2022-04-12 20:50:45

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com My name is Doris John. My ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce. But I always wanted to get back together with him, All it took was a visit to this spell casters website, because my dream was to start a new life with my husband, and live happily with him.. This spell caster requested for a specific love spell for me and my husband, and i accepted it. And this powerful spell caster began to work his love spell. And 48 hours after this spell caster worked for me,my husband called me back for us to be together again, and he was remorseful for all his wrong deeds.The spell is work perfectly and my husband is now back to me again.My “husband” is back and we went to court and withdraw our divorce papers ASAP. This is nothing short of a miracle Thank you Dr.Murugu for your powerful spells. Words are not enough. Email: dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com https://drmakinidrmurugu.blogspot.com Whatsapp: +90 538 069 4285

2022-04-12 20:50:46

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com My name is Doris John. My ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce. But I always wanted to get back together with him, All it took was a visit to this spell casters website, because my dream was to start a new life with my husband, and live happily with him.. This spell caster requested for a specific love spell for me and my husband, and i accepted it. And this powerful spell caster began to work his love spell. And 48 hours after this spell caster worked for me,my husband called me back for us to be together again, and he was remorseful for all his wrong deeds.The spell is work perfectly and my husband is now back to me again.My “husband” is back and we went to court and withdraw our divorce papers ASAP. This is nothing short of a miracle Thank you Dr.Murugu for your powerful spells. Words are not enough. Email: dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com https://drmakinidrmurugu.blogspot.com Whatsapp: +90 538 069 4285

2022-04-12 20:50:46

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com

I URGENTLY NEED MY EX BACK WITH THE HELP OF A POWERFUL LOVE SPELL CASTER . dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com My name is Doris John. My ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce. But I always wanted to get back together with him, All it took was a visit to this spell casters website, because my dream was to start a new life with my husband, and live happily with him.. This spell caster requested for a specific love spell for me and my husband, and i accepted it. And this powerful spell caster began to work his love spell. And 48 hours after this spell caster worked for me,my husband called me back for us to be together again, and he was remorseful for all his wrong deeds.The spell is work perfectly and my husband is now back to me again.My “husband” is back and we went to court and withdraw our divorce papers ASAP. This is nothing short of a miracle Thank you Dr.Murugu for your powerful spells. Words are not enough. Email: dr.makinidrmurugu@gmail.com https://drmakinidrmurugu.blogspot.com Whatsapp: +90 538 069 4285

2022-04-12 20:51:03

Layla Cole- HACK VANISH CREDIT EXPERT

Special thanks to HACK VANISH, a professional hacker I’ve been hiring for the past 2 years because, I find him to be an outstanding hacker who has aided me in various hacking related issues, ranging from fixing my poor FICO credit score of about 437 TransUnion, 462 Equifax to 802 plus excellent score, tracking my cheating husband’s phone and currently has helped me recover my lost crypto funds from an online scam investment I recently ventured into, I must confess he is the best, quite brilliant, ever since I discovered him through a positive review I saw on Wallet Hub and reached out to him via Email: Hackvanish @ Gmail. com, and Phone: +1(747) 293-8514, to which he responded in less than 10mins, I have never regretted working with him, he’s been quite helpful and highly efficient. I Would recommend his services to anyone without hesitation.

2022-04-18 18:12:26

tom cam

My name is Tom cam!!! i am very grateful sharing this great testimonies with you all, The best thing that has ever happened in my life,  is how i won the Powerball lottery. I do believe that someday i will win the Powerball lottery. Finally my dreams came through when i contacted Dr. OSE and tell him i needed the lottery winning special numbers cause i have come a long way spending money on ticket just to make sure i win. But i never knew that winning was so easy with the help of Dr. OSE, until the day i meant the spell caster testimony online, which a lot of people has talked about that he is very powerful and has great powers in casting lottery spell, so i decided to give it a try. I emailed Dr. OSE and he did a spell and gave me the winning lottery special numbers 62, and co-incidentally I have be playing this same number for the past 23years without any winning, But believe me when I play the special number 62 this time and the draws were out i was the mega winner because the special 62 matched all five white-ball numbers as well as the Powerball, in the April 4 drawing to win the $70 million jackpot prize...… Dr. OSE, truly you are the best, with Dr. OSE you can will millions of money through lottery. i am a living testimony and so very happy i meant him, and i will forever be grateful to him...… you can Email him for your own winning special lottery numbers now oseremenspelltemple@gmail.com OR WHATSAPP him +2348136482342 www.facebook.com/Dr-odion-spell-temple-110513923938220

2022-04-27 00:28:51

wilbertstewart

I Got a notification that my credit score has dropped so when I checked  it ,it went from a 760 down to 617 .I was totally stunned . Nothing has changed that i'm aware of ,all my bills are paid on time and not much card debt .I was so surprised how it is possible to drop so much and have no idea why .I saw an article that says thirty days late payments will stay on your reports for two years. I now remembered I had one late payment about four years ago. It was a sad experience for me and my lovely wife .we needed an immediate solution , that was when we came across some local  community  beneficiaries reviews of NEWHORIZONCREDIT1 ,then i contacted  them at (  NEWHORIZONCREDIT1ATGMAILdotCOM ) .I was so shocked when i received an email regarding changes on my credit report .I discovered all my negative tradelines  were off  and my credit score increased from 617 -785 within five working days .

2022-05-03 10:05:00

evelyncolemaan

Rebuilding a good credit score can be very frustrating and usually takes up months or even years depending on how consistently you pay bills completely & on time. I used to be among these unfortunate categories until recently when I had this job interview. I was invited to attend by The Mosaic Company in Florida , and after a background-check by the company I was placed on hold because of my terrible credit report score .A 550 FICO score is considered very poor and generally won't get the best terms for loans and credit etc . Thanks to NEWHORIZONCREDIT1 who came to my rescue and performed their magic on my credit score report , now I can boast of a credit score of 790 . contact them at NEWHORIZONCREDIT1 AT gmail DOT com . Trust me they are reliable .

2022-05-11 18:04:08

Lucas Williams

I strongly recommend Rootkit Credit Specialist . They helped me out so much after already paying a self-acclaim credit expert who basically just took my money and did nothing for almost a year, I found them on a credit forum and they immediately showed results and even guided me on what my best solution for my trade in for a new vehicle would be with a lower approximate % and not to mention how well they inform you and explain to you everything that's going on with your credit. My score has been raised to 780s in less than 9days and all derogatory items are gone. They're currently working on my wife's report. You can reach out to them via rootkitscreditspecialist at gmail dot com. You can thank me later.

2022-05-18 02:41:34

Blank ATM Card +393512615163

Get $5,500 USD every day, for six months! See how it works. What'sApp : +393512615163 I want to testify about Dark Web blank atm cards which can withdraw money from any atm machines around the world. I was very poor before and have no job. I saw so much testimony about how Dark Web hackers send them the atm blank card and use it to collect money in any atm machine and become rich. Email : carolblankatmcard@gmail.com Hangout : carolblankatmcard@gmail.com What'sApp : +393512615163 They also sent me the blank atm card. I have used it to get 90,000 dollars. withdraw the maximum of 5,000 USD daily. The Dark Web is giving out cards just to help the poor. Hack and take money directly from any atm machine vault with the use of an atm programmed card which runs in automatic mode.

2022-05-19 22:56:22

Blank ATM Card +393512615163

Get $5,500 USD every day, for six months! See how it works. What'sApp : +393512615163 I want to testify about Dark Web blank atm cards which can withdraw money from any atm machines around the world. I was very poor before and have no job. I saw so much testimony about how Dark Web hackers send them the atm blank card and use it to collect money in any atm machine and become rich. Email : carolblankatmcard@gmail.com Hangout : carolblankatmcard@gmail.com What'sApp : +393512615163 They also sent me the blank atm card. I have used it to get 90,000 dollars. withdraw the maximum of 5,000 USD daily. The Dark Web is giving out cards just to help the poor. Hack and take money directly from any atm machine vault with the use of an atm programmed card which runs in automatic mode.

2022-05-19 22:59:13


You may also like